Library Time

It has been a busy basketball season with 2 players. We were finally able to escape to the big library after a tournament loss. We all make a bee line for the Juvenile fiction section. Thing 1 & 2 make quick selections and then head to the x-box. Cat and I meander through the new book selection. We find 2 copies of Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin. We’re excited that we can read it at the same time. She wanders off in another direction and I head to the nonfiction.
Last week someone left a copy of Heroes of the Holocaust: True Stories of Rescues by Teens in the Teacher’s Lounge. After 3 days of no one else picking it up to read, I decided to pick it up. Knowing it would be an emotional read it then laid on our homework table for a week before I finally opened it, and stepped back in time. It is so unreal to me the horrors of this time. I remember very little from history class. That is why my next stop in the library was the non-fiction section. My choices were: In Their Own Words World War II, Kids Who Survived Tell Their Stories, and Memories of Survival.
Next stop for me is the magazine section. I choose 2 “American Patchwork & Quilting” magazines to picture gaze. That’s right. I just look at the pretty pictures because I am not a quilter. But I appreciate the art.
It’s now been about an hour and everyone is ready to check out. I smile knowing that these library times are memories my children will know, cherish and pass on to their children.

9 thoughts on “Library Time

  1. I love just browsing through the library – your post makes me want to go with my daughter and see what we can find together! Looking forward to reading more.

  2. I am beyond thrilled to see you posting again! Sounds like a very fruitful outing in the library for all. I have Rain Reign on my list to read one day. Libraries are magical places for all ages.

  3. Going to the library today fills me with joy and nostalgia because of my childhood trips there, almost identical to what you describe in your post. Rain Reign is on my To Read list too!

  4. I love how you walked us through the different sections of your browsing in such a vivid way. I’ll always remember visiting the library with my mom with a laundry basket to fill with books! 🙂

  5. This slice reminds me so much of library visits to Illmo with my mom. I might need some gentle nudging back with carving out time to slice. Can’t wait to see some of Cat’s writing. On your next trip…look for Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline for you.

Leave a Reply

